Blog 18 – upwards and onwards

20160530_214858.jpgThe last 2 days in Hamburg at Bettina’s place were also really lovely. Bettina was another airbnb guest (come friend) of mine in Australia. She is now an airbnb SUPER host herself. Bettina pointed out a the Globetrotter shop to me in Barmbeck, a HUGE camping, hiking everything shop with 3 floors of anything one might want in this area. Now I’m not sure if people know this, but I’m addicted to those shops and everybody for some reason points them out to me. Anaconda in Australia, Decathlon in Spain, Globetrotter in Germany. I usually try and avoid shopping in huge stores that are run by rich multinationals, but here, my principles go out the window. I drove past the Globetrotter twice trying to control my breathing with meditative exercises, but the 3rd time I failed and just had to get off the train. I felt my heart rate increase, I started to sweat, to salivate – all typical signs of addiction. I googled my affliction and I seem to be what’s called a “Trophy shopaholic”, one who is shopping for the perfect item. Well, I found the perfect silk pyjamas! Lighter that my previous night attire, remember the snowman variety from Blog 8? And hugely lighter, probably 25 grams! Plus the latest guide book about the Wales Coastal Path. Even in English I might add. BRILLIANT. I wonder who will point out the British shop variety to me?

1.6.16. Well, despite the usual anxiety (Will I find the Underground at Heathrow (used to hate that airport)? Will I manage the Underground ticket machines? What if I take the Tube in the wrong direction? What if I miscalculated and overstayed my welcome in the Schengen countries and they arrest me? Will I find Susan and Stephen’s place? What if the plane is later than it already is and I cannot contact the neighbour re the key etc etc)…booooring, but never the less thoughts that go through my head). All silly stuff, but most thoughts are, mine anyway. All went well of course. Susan and Stephen left for Australia yesterday but kindly let me stay at their house anyway.

2.6.16 Weather is typical for what I think of England, raining, windy and cold. S&S live about 40 tube stations from Heathrow, in Loughton. Took me longer by Tube to their place than from Hamburg to London, ahhhh funny. Nothing drew me into London city today and instead I rugged up with my kind of normal by now 5 layers, plus scarf, long johns, hat and umbrella and explored the Epping Forest, a beautiful old forest about 6000 acres in size.

20160601_181435.jpg20160601_173616.jpgBeautiful beech trees over 350 years old. OMG, it’s not a Zwiesel at the bottom of this tree is it?

20160601_172644.jpg20160601_172453.jpg

Pretty roses and some unusual house wiring I had never seen before.

3.6.16 Took bus to Swansea today and just after we crossed the Severn Bridge into Wales the weather turnd from rain into sunshine, quite bizarre. “Croeso i Gymru” – Welcome to Wales!

20160602_145038.jpg20160603_190401.png

Bettina had the brilliant suggestion to add a map to my Blog so people can see where I actually am walking. So, here is the Wales Coastal Path and I’m starting to walk tomorrow from Swansea North or West rather. Yes, yes, I’m walking the opposite direction to the guide book AGAIN.

20160601_191859.jpgSwansea seems like a dump if I may be so judgemental. The rubbish in the streets and along the beach in Swansea Bay is unbelievable. I thought Malaga was bad. And the bins are overflowing with lots of litter around them and birds spreading it even further. I was wondering if the rubbish removal people were on strike. So so sad what we supposedly educated people do. I talked to a local lady some 10kms on and she urged me to please write to the papers and the Council re this.

20160603_064736.jpgThis is Swansea Bay, start of my walk and I’m sparing you the rubbish photos. The singposts for this walk are the dragonshell logo. I guess it means a mixture cost and the Welsh flag of a dragon.

I was carrying a fairly light pack today because I would take the bus back to Swansea after the first etappe. I didn’t manage to find accommodation in Penmaen, mid term holidays here.

screenshot_20160603-175636.png20160605_175757.png

Luckily, the further away from town I got, the less litter. And for the rest of the day the landscape started to look really beautiful. I’m happy again!

20160603_101911.jpgSpot Sandy, the seal!

20160603_100252.jpg20160603_100307.jpgFunny little beach shacks that people either own or rent to keep their deck chairs and beach “stuff” in, change etc.

20160603_113430.jpgAt the beginning of this beach I had the choice between the high road or the low road depending on the tide. Looked like low tide with plenty of time so I walked along the beach. Then I thought you had to walk around this headland also, ‘rock hopping’ as we call it in Australia. My friend Ruth and I don’t like rock hopping much, mainly because basically we’re too old for it and the hopp is long gone. I was quite insecure and had no idea how long it would go for and if I would find the path again. I stepped on what I thought was fairly solid looking seaweed, which wasn’t solid at all and I fell in the water. Wet to the hip! I got up a bit shaky but laughing as no injury just to slip again. Wanted to make sure I’m REALLY wet. Ok, not for me this path, I turned around while the tide was still out to find the high road. I found a little cave to change into my shorts and sandals. Lucky I had a change of clothes cause most of my stuff was back at the airbnb. The first time EVER I didn’t have all of my house on my back! No knickers for example….

20160603_120441_009.jpgAnyway, all good, no injury and upwards and onwards with the boots hopefully drying out by tomorrow.

4.6.16 Took bus back to Penmaen in th morning to continue where I stopped walking yesterday. It was beautiful today, such a varied landscape from nature coastal reserves to what almost looked like rainforest with 268 steps to climb. I didn’t count them, my book said so.

20160604_133702.jpg20160604_095900.jpg

And then I saw something I least expected to EVER see in Wales:

20160604_105208.jpgLuckily I’m not afraid of snakes and since we have 21 of the 25 most poisenous snakes in Australia, I thought this little critter can’t do much harm. I can see some of my family members shake in horror though (won’t mention names!). However, I found out later, this is an adder, the only poisenous snake in the UK. LOL! Still wouldn’t have killed me, could kill a dog or a baby though. I had just packed the camera away, walked on a few steps and saw one of its babies on the path. But it slithered away quickly. One of the houses in the distance is the Youth Hostel in Port Eynon, where I stayed the night. What a spot!

20160604_160022.jpg20160604_162953.jpgI saw an interesting menu in Port Eynon. Help! What can I eat? What on earth are Curry & Chips? Next door was an ice cream shop and I opted for the much healthier (!) food choice there of scones with jam and lots of some strange double clotted cream, if you know what that is!

20160605_084205.jpg20160605_112957.jpg5.6.16 Sunday. Today was beautiful again. For hours just me, sheep, some cattle, the rugged landscape and some huge beaches.

20160605_094753.jpg20160605_091937.jpg20160605_091519.jpg20160605_102502.jpgThis is Worms Head, where at low tide, which is in the next 30 minutes, you can actually walk over and see lots of bird life and a seal colony. But I decided against it after my last rock hopping adventure. My legs are still a bit sore. Then came amazing Rhosili beach:

20160605_105700.jpgAnd I actually found some REAL food here, the best roasted vegies with pesto, fried watermelon and homemade bread I ever had? 20160605_113127.jpg

I thanked the chef on my knees, well almost. I’m exhausted today arriving in a lovely B&B in Llanmadoc. The long gap of not walking left me quite unfit again. Never mind will just have to build up again.

I will post this Blog even though it’s only 3 days into my walk. But just so you know where I am and what I’m up to. Lots of love to you all.

Ursula

7 thoughts on “Blog 18 – upwards and onwards

  1. Du lebst ja gefährlich, hört sich aber spannend an. Hast wohl einen guten Schutzengel, Ursel. Rock hopping könnte ich auch nicht mehr, obwohl ich doch so sportlich war. LG, Verena

    Like

  2. So good to hear from you again, Ursula! Love how you let us participate in your adventure, Mx

    Like

    1. Are you visiting Europe this year? Love to catch up again one day. I might have to come to NZ for some walking hahaha
      Ursula

      Like

  3. Ja, hopping, du meine Güte, running, du meine Güte, dancing…mannomann, wat war’n wir hopping und dancing Gazellen!!!! Du tapfere Frau, fall’ mir ja nicht wieder ins Wasser!
    Die Photos machen Sehnsucht nach Meer! Aber wo sind die Zwiesel?? Alle an Bord vom Unterlandbootoberkommandanten????
    Bisou,
    Sygun

    Like

  4. Liebe Ursel, nun lass mal das hoppen und such dir weniger gefährliche Strecken aus. Bei aller Bewunderung muss ich jetzt doch mit dir schimpfen. Also, versprich, dass du so etwas nicht wieder machst . Das erste Menü sah ja etwas gruselig aus. Hast du schon mal das Lieblingsessen probiert? Pommer in einem Brötchen und die Pommes zur Erhöhung des Genusses mit Essig übergossen.. Wirklich gruselig!
    Pass auf Dich auf, wir würden Dich gern noch einmal unversehrt in SH sehen. Liebe Grüße, annegret

    Like

Leave a comment